GPT Image API
Usage-based API
Programmatic GPT Image use, currently GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and Flare, is metered through OpenAI API token pricing rather than a single fixed per-image subscription price.

AI Image Generators
OpenAI's image models for typography, conversational edits, and developer APIs.
GPT Image: OpenAI's image models for typography, conversational edits, and developer APIs. Pricing: Usage-based API. Best for Text-heavy posters and social graphics and Infographics, explainers, and diagram-like compositions.
Overview
GPT Image is OpenAI's image-generation and editing model family for developers and product teams that need image creation through the OpenAI API. OpenAI's current models are GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst, for workflows where editing precision matters most, and GPT Image 2.5 Flare, for fast everyday generation; GPT Image 2 remains available as an earlier model at the same token rates. It is best for workflows that need prompt-based generation, image edits, reference-guided outputs, or text-heavy graphics inside an application or production pipeline rather than a standalone design app.
Its strength is direct integration with OpenAI's model platform. Teams can build image creation into tools, automate asset generation, and use the same vendor relationship as other OpenAI workloads. The caveat is that GPT Image is a model and API path, not a complete creative suite. Product teams still need their own UX, review process, storage, safety checks, and cost controls.
Use GPT Image when image generation belongs inside software or an automated workflow. If the need is casual image making or human-led design iteration, ChatGPT Images inside the ChatGPT app is a separate route, so separate ChatGPT image access from API usage before choosing the buying path.
Pricing
Pricing routes
App subscriptions, API usage, team workspaces, and enterprise contracts can follow different billing paths. See the pricing guide for current plan and meter details.
Usage-based API
Programmatic GPT Image use, currently GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and Flare, is metered through OpenAI API token pricing rather than a single fixed per-image subscription price.
Bundled access
Interactive image generation can be accessed through ChatGPT image features and shares the user plan boundary.
Usage-based API
Usage: Pay-as-you-go for gpt-image-2.5-sunburst, gpt-image-2.5-flare and the earlier gpt-image-2: text input $5 per 1M tokens, cached text input $1.25 per 1M tokens; image input $8 per 1M tokens, cached image input $2 per 1M tokens; image output $30 per 1M tokens. Cached input rates apply only to the Responses API image generation tool.
Input types
text, image, file
Output types
image
Supported platforms
Web, iOS, Android, Mac, Windows
Delivery modes
Chat app, API
Company
OpenAI
Founded
Not specified
Headquarters
Not specified
Category
AI Image Generators
Screenshots






Evidence boundary
Editorial guidance grounded in official product sources.
FAQ
Not exactly. ChatGPT Images (currently ChatGPT Images 2.5) is the image feature inside the ChatGPT app, while GPT Image is OpenAI's API model family. The current API models are gpt-image-2.5-sunburst and gpt-image-2.5-flare, and gpt-image-2 remains available as an earlier model.
It is strongest when the image needs to communicate something precise: posters, infographics, multilingual layouts, product mockups, diagram-like explainers, and reference-image edits that need tight prompt adherence.
Pick Midjourney for aesthetic-first art, Ideogram for typography-first posters or logos, Adobe Firefly for Adobe-native branded workflows, and Recraft for vector-first brand asset production.
Yes. The Image API has an edits endpoint that accepts reference images and optional masks, and the Responses API supports multi-turn editing. OpenAI recommends GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst when editing precision matters most and Flare for fast everyday generation.
GPT Image API usage is billed per token: GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and Flare cost $5 per 1M text input tokens, $8 per 1M image input tokens and $30 per 1M image output tokens. ChatGPT plans give end users image access in the app, but those subscriptions are separate from API billing and do not include API credits.
Recent updates
Event date
Updated API errors so applications can distinguish traffic that increases too quickly from temporary model overload.
Official source Changelog | OpenAI API
Verified
Decision rail
Keep the key facts, primary action, and section jumps visible while you evaluate the profile.
Last verified July 27, 2026
On this page
Share
Pass this page along
Copy the link or send it to the channel where your team compares tools, pricing, and tradeoffs.
Navigation
Open related pages for pricing, alternatives, and adjacent coverage.
Open direct comparison pages involving this tool.
Nearby tools in the same lane.
Reference links