Devin Desktop

AI Coding Assistants

Devin Desktop

Cognition's agentic IDE for local and cloud coding workflows.

Ways to pay

Devin Desktop Pro
From $20/mo
Devin Desktop Teams
From $80/mo
Devin Desktop Enterprise
Custom
Free plan available
On this page5

Overview

Bottom line

Devin Desktop is Cognition's AI coding editor, called Windsurf until June 2, 2026. It is a VS Code-derived editor built around an agent command center: Devin Local is its local agent (it replaced Cascade, which was removed on September 8, 2026), Devin Cloud sessions run on Cognition's machines, and third-party agents such as Codex and Claude Agent can run inside it. Tab completions and inline edits sit alongside the agents.

Devin Desktop fits developers who already work in a VS Code-style editor and want to manage several coding agents in one place. Its main caveat is that usage is a token-based quota, not a fixed number of requests: each self-serve plan has a daily and a weekly budget, priced by the models you use, and Max drops the daily cap. Cognition describes plan quotas only as light, increased or significantly higher, so you learn how far a plan goes from your own usage.

Self-serve plans share one quota across the desktop app, the Devin CLI and Devin Cloud, and paid plans can buy extra usage at API list prices once it runs out. Third-party agents bill through their own vendors' accounts. New teams that need single sign-on or SCIM must buy an Enterprise contract, which is billed in ACUs instead of the self-serve quota.

Pricing

Pricing snapshot

Ways to pay

App subscriptions, API usage, team workspaces, and enterprise contracts can follow different billing paths. See the pricing guide for current plan and meter details.

  • App subscription

    Primary

    Devin Desktop Pro

    From $20/mo

    Individual developers buy Devin Desktop through Free, Pro, and Max plans; Pro starts at $20/mo and Max at $200/mo.

  • Team workspace

    Devin Desktop Teams

    From $80/mo

    Team plans add centralized billing and collaboration for up to 200 users, with an $80/mo minimum met by $40/mo full seats; free flex seats use shared credits and exclude Devin Desktop.

  • Enterprise sales

    Devin Desktop Enterprise

    Custom

    Enterprise pricing is custom and adds SSO, centralized controls, VPC deployment options, and dedicated support.

Plans

Free

$0/mo + usage

Usage: Light daily and weekly quota

Individual plans

Pro

$20/mo + usage

Usage: Access to Devin Desktop, Devin Cloud, free use of SWE-2, and extra usage at API pricing

Max

$200/mo + usage

Usage: Significantly higher quotas for heavier agent usage

Team plans

Teams

$80/mo + usage

Usage: $80/mo minimum; full seats are $40/mo each with a Pro-level quota and Devin Desktop access; free flex seats use shared on-demand credits and exclude Devin Desktop

  • Centralized billing — Included
  • Admin dashboard with analytics — Included
  • Priority support — Included
  • Automated zero data retention — Included

Enterprise

Custom quote or bundled pricing

Usage: Custom terms, highest priority support, dedicated account management, SSO/OIDC SSO, enterprise controls, and optional VPC deployment

  • Dedicated account management — Included
  • RBAC — Included
  • SSO + access control features — Included
  • Hybrid deployment option — Included

Capabilities

Input types

text, image, code, file

Output types

text, code, file

Supported platforms

Mac, Windows, Linux

Delivery modes

Desktop app

Company context

Company

Cognition AI, Inc.

Founded

Not specified

Headquarters

Not specified

Category

AI Coding Assistants

Official sources

Editorial guidance grounded in official product sources.

FAQ

Common questions

Is Devin Desktop an IDE or a plugin?

Devin Desktop is a dedicated AI-native editor for Mac, Windows, and Linux. The older Windsurf JetBrains plugin is in maintenance mode.

Does Devin Desktop support MCP?

Yes. Devin Desktop connects to MCP servers and, for enterprise teams, to remote MCPs configured in Devin Cloud. Rules and skills customize its agents; Cascade workflows are deprecated in favor of skills, and the Cascade Migration Wizard moves hooks, workflows and memories across.

Is Devin Desktop free, and how does its pricing work?

Yes, Devin Desktop has a Free plan with a light daily and weekly quota, limited model availability, and unlimited Tab completions and inline edits. Pro is $20/month, Max $200/month, and Teams has an $80/month minimum met by $40/month full seats (up to 200 members); Enterprise is priced by quote. Paid plans can buy extra usage at API list prices once the quota runs out. Free trials of paid plans are not offered.

Who should choose Devin Desktop?

Choose Devin Desktop when you want a full AI-first editor that runs Devin Local, Devin Cloud sessions and third-party agents such as Codex and Claude Agent from one command center. Choose something lighter if you mostly want low-cost autocomplete inside the editor you already use.