chatgpt

AI Personal Agents

ChatGPT Dots

OpenAI's always-on agent inside ChatGPT, included on Pro and Business Premium and in beta on Enterprise.

Ways to pay

ChatGPT Pro plan access
From $100/mo
ChatGPT Business Premium seat
From $100/seat/mo
ChatGPT Enterprise beta
Custom
On this page5

Overview

Bottom line

Dots are always-on agents inside ChatGPT, launched by OpenAI in September 2026. A dot runs on GPT-6 Astra with its own cloud computer, connects to apps through ChatGPT's plugins and keeps working toward a goal between conversations. It can also hand work to ChatGPT Work and Codex, starting tasks, continuing local Codex tasks and sending follow-up instructions.

It suits people who already pay for a top ChatGPT plan and want ongoing work done in the background rather than one answer at a time. The core caveat is usage: talking to your dot is free of ChatGPT limits, but the Work and Codex tasks it creates count against those products' limits, and OpenAI has not yet published how much deeper dot work each plan allows after the launch month.

You do not buy dots separately. One dot comes with ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium, and Enterprise workspaces can switch it on as a beta.

Pricing

How ChatGPT Dots pricing works

Ways to pay

Pricing may differ across app subscriptions, API usage, team workspaces, and enterprise contracts. See the pricing guide for current plan and meter details.

  • App subscription

    Primary

    ChatGPT Pro plan access

    From $100/mo

    One dot is included at no extra cost on ChatGPT Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, the cheapest at $100 a month, for adults outside the EEA, the UK and Switzerland; conversations with it do not count toward ChatGPT limits, while Work and Codex tasks it starts do.

  • Team workspace

    ChatGPT Business Premium seat

    From $100/seat/mo

    Business Premium seats include a dot in every supported region, at $125 per seat a month or $100 billed annually; Business Standard seats do not list dots.

  • Enterprise sales

    ChatGPT Enterprise beta

    Custom

    Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare workspaces can turn on dots as a beta; they are off by default until an administrator enables them.

Capabilities

Input types

text, image, file, audio

Output types

text, file

Supported platforms

Web, iOS, Android, Mac, Windows

Delivery modes

Web app, Mobile app, Desktop app, Chat app

Company context

Company

OpenAI

Founded

Not specified

Headquarters

Not specified

Category

AI Personal Agents

Official sources

Editorial guidance grounded in official product sources.

FAQ

Common questions

Which ChatGPT plans include dots?

Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 for adults outside the European Economic Area, the UK and Switzerland, and Business Premium in every supported region. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare workspaces get a beta that an admin must turn on.

Do dots use up my ChatGPT limits?

Conversations with your dot do not count toward ChatGPT usage limits. Tasks it starts or manages in ChatGPT Work or Codex count toward those products' limits as usual.

How many dots do I get?

One. Your first dot is included in Pro or Business Premium at no extra cost, and OpenAI says you will be able to add more later.

Where can I use my dot?

In ChatGPT on the web, desktop app (Mac and Windows) and iOS and Android apps, though not mobile web, and in Slack, Teams or a call.